Dinner and Dessert

Anyone who has known me long enough to taste my kitchen creations knows how passionate I am about cooking. I have not lost my charm in the last year but since I have been living with my fiance while he takes care of his ill mom, I have not had a kitchen to call my own. I cook in other people’s kitchens, but for someone who loves cooking, there is nothing like your own kitchen. I have had the pleasure to cook in the Conscious Cook’s kitchen lately and have realized as long as there are ingredients, a sink,somewhere to chop, and a heating source than I have a kitchen. With that being said, tonight I walked into the kitchen much like a cowboy would approaching a draw-anxious and ready to win this one. This was the outcome:

Potato and Leek Soup

IMG_3738

 

 

This recipe is vegan but can be made nonvegan by substituting vegan dairy alternatives with dairy products.

2 tbs vegan butter (I used Earth Balance)

1/2 yellow onion, chopped

1 large leek, white part diced

3 garlic cloves, minced

3 medium Yukon Gold potatoes (I kept skin on for nutrient reasons), quartered

1 1/2 tbs white wine

3 cups vegetable stock

3 tbs nutritional yeast

2 tbs Vegenaise (soy-free)

1/4 cup almond milk

Salt and Pepper to taste

 

1. Melt butter in a large sized saucepan over medium heat. Add onions and saute for four minutes.

2. Add leeks and cook for three minutes. Add garlic and cook for one more minute.

3. Add potatoes and white wine to the onion mixture for one minute.

4. Add broth and bring to a boil.

5. Reduce heat to low, cover, and simmer for 20 minutes.

6. Working in batches, ladle soup into a food processor or blender and process until creamy. Continue until the entire soup has a creamy consistency. Serve immediately and smile with satisfaction.

 

Homemade Vegan Strawberry Ice Cream

IMG_3743

 

Landry Fuller of Fuller Living had us make vegan ice cream in our class this Saturday and I knew I had to come home and make my own variation. The one we made had a very strong banana flavor so  I changed it slightly. I can’t wait to make chocolate!

2 bananas, frozen (peeled and chopped before you freeze)

1/3 cup almond milk (I used unsweetened)

2 tsp fresh lemon juice

3 tablespoons Adam Parker’s homemade Strawberry Balsamic Jam (Parker family secret recipe)

 

Mix all four ingredients in a food processor or blender for a few minutes until creamy. Freeze for at least 3 hours and enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

