You Makin’ Me Bacon?

I love to cook. Excuse me, I mean I LOVE to cook. Some people are dancers and some are cooks. I am the latter. With Thanksgiving being next week and all I have started the cookathon early. With how much I dance with my spatulas and pot and pans there is no way this culinary holiday only lasts one day in my kitchen. The last few days I have made butternut squash soup, vegan cauliflower steaks, thanksgiving rice, and vegan stuffing. It’s like being a kid in the candy store only this kid is in the produce department.

I decided to change it up tonight and take a Michael Myers type stab at my own bacon. Look, I may be vegan but I’m not stupid. . .  Bacon was delicious. The crisp, and the crackle, and the smokey flavor. My taste buds are feeling frisky! While I was in San Diego last month I had the pleasure of staying with my dear friends and workout soul sisters Brandi and Rose Mahan. Rose made her very own vegan bacon and from the moment she started cooking it was love at first sniff. I decided to recreate her masterpiece and came pretty close with my Fackin Bacon B.S.T. (bacon, spinach, tomato or big savory tasty).

PicsArt_1384832844336

Ingredients

1 pound extra firm tofu, drained and dried with a towel
1/2 cup water
1/2 cup low sodium soy sauce or Braggs liquid aminos
2 tablespoons vegan brown sugar (or regular)
2 tablespoons organic ketchup
1 tablespoon liquid smoke
1-2 teaspoons coconut oil

Directions

  1. Slice the tofu with a cheese slicer (you can carefully try a peeler if you do not have a cheese slicer). You should have around 25 slices.
  2. Mix together all other ingredients except coconut oil in a medium bowl. Transfer to a shallow dish adding all the tofu slices.
  3. For best results, let marinate for at least 8 hours or overnight in the refrigerator. I made these instantly and they were still very tasty.
  4. Heat a large skillet over medium heat. Add the coconut oil and allow to heat up. Add the bacon slices, cooking each side until a dark golden brown and crispy.
  5. Serve hot or cold!
Leave a Reply

